1961 creation of the Association of Southeast Asia with Philippines, Malaysia and Thailand

1967 creation of ASEAN with Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand

1984 Brunei joined ASEAN after resuming full independence

1995 Vietnam joined the group

1997 Laos and Myanmar became members

1997 ASEAN Plus Three : the association developed a closer relationship with 3 major actors of the region : China, Japan and South Korea .

1999 Cambodia was the 10th member

2006 United Nations gave ASEAN an Observer Status at the General Assembly